Robert McLaughlin Bible Ministries

Loser believers whose glory is in their shame, Part 7. An amazing coincidence.

Wednesday, January 31, 2001

Point 4. Warnings of the Lord to the Lukewarm Believer Concerning Shame.

Turn to REV 3:14-16

A vibrant Christianity has emerged in the midst of the suffering, persecution and atheism of these Communist dominated countries.

In free Europe where there has been prosperity and democracy, the church is almost completely dead.

Europe/U.S. – working for a one world government while the masses are preoccupied with their comfort and pleasure or their “so-called” good life.

There are inherent dangers in both freedom and prosperity, and very subtle dangers.

Turn to ECC 8:11

Because we lack any visible external threat to our faith, many in the free world have lost any sense of the subtlety of the enemy and how he attacks.

1PE 2:21For you have been called for this purpose, since Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example for you to follow in His steps,”

Turn to DEU 6:10

1CO 4:7For who regards you as superior? And what do you have that you did not receive? But if you did receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it?”

Turn to DEU 8:7

With freedom and prosperity comes the temptation to trust in the blessings rather than in the Blessor.

1TI 6:17-18To those who are rich in this present age, instruct them not to be arrogant and not to have confidence in the uncertainty of riches, but to depend upon the God, who richly supplies us abundantly with all things for our pleasure and enjoyment.”

1TI 6:18-19To be producing divine good, to be rich in honorable deeds, to be generous and liberal in giving, “Accumulating treasures for themselves, an honorable foundation for the future, in order that they may take hold of the blessings of that which is life indeed or really life.

Turn to MAT 6:19

TLJC warns and instructs us against the deadening and lukewarm effects of trusting in material wealth rather than pursuing a vital relationship with Him.

Seven churches of Asia can even portray seven historical stages the church would go through.

Apostolic Period – Pentecost – AD 100. The Faith Defined.

Roman Persecution Period – AD 100-313. The Faith Defended.

Old Catholic Period – AD 313-590. The Faith Disputed.

Roman Catholic Period – AD 590-1517. The Faith Defiled.

Protestant Period – AD 1517-1795. The Faith Discovered.

Missionary and New Testament Assemblies Period – AD 1795-1870. The Faith Discerned.

Modernist and Ecumenical Period – AD 1870 – Rapture. The Faith Denied.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top