Robert McLaughlin Bible Ministries

Nehemiah. Part 3.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

There are 10 commandments, Exo 20.
10 plagues on Egypt,
EXO 9:14ff.
There are 10 “I AM’s spoken by Jesus in John.

Each of the gates speak of different experiences in our Christian life that we need to come into.

Their order and position is very specific and gives us insight into the types of theories God takes each of His children on.

1. The Sheep Gate, in
NEH 3:1,32; called the sheep gate because this was the gate which the sheep and lambs which were used in the sacrifices were brought through.

2. The Fish Gate which speaks of evangelism or the new believer sharing the good news or the Gospel with others,
NEH 3:3.

3. The Old Gate, NEH 3:6, which speaks to us of the old ways of truth.

JER 18:15 For My people have forgotten Me, They burn incense to worthless gods And they have stumbled from their ways, From the ancient paths, To walk in bypaths, Not on a highway –
[calal – the way of self or the arrogant way],

4. The Valley Gate,
NEH 3:13, which speaks to us of being humbled by means of trials and tribulations.

5. The Dung Gate, NEH 3:14.
This is the gate that they would take all the garbage and rubbish out of Jerusalem, down to the valley of Hinnom to be burned.
It was the cesspool of the city into which its sewage was carried away and where all its solid filth was collected.

The Valley experiences are used by the Lord to clear away the rubbish so that our real faith which has been refined by fire can come forth and produce fruit.

PSA 107:20 He sent His word and healed them, And delivered them from their destructions. PSA 147:3 He heals the brokenhearted, And binds up their wounds.

1TH 2:13 And for this reason we also constantly thank God that when you received from us the word of God’s message, you accepted it not as the word of men, but for what it really is, the word of God, which also performs its work in you who believe.

Scroll to Top